Dacian Cioloș elected president of Renew Europe Group in the European Parliament

Image for post
Image for post

Former Romanian Prime Minister and European Commissioner, Dacian Cioloș, has been elected President of Renew Europe, the third largest political group in the European Parliament with 108 MEPs.

Following the vote, Dacian Cioloș said:

“I am thankful to all Renew Europe colleagues for their trust and support. Renew Europe is more than the third largest group of the European Parliament. It is a new hope for Europe and for all Europeans. As its President, I will put all my energy and efforts into making Renew Europe a tangible reality for all citizens, into making this group work smoothly and effectively, with concrete solutions for those that entrusted us with their hope.

I believe in one Europe from East to West and from North to South, an inovative and globally competitive Europe, a Union that protects its citizens, their freedoms and human rights. Our focus will be on how to be closer to our citizens and best address their legitimate expectations, from social protection and entrepreneurship to climate and energy, from migration to competitiveness and digital transformation. Renew Europe will be pivotal in every strategic political file, delivering concrete results. Together we will work for a better, fairer and freer Europe, where our fundamental values will be at the core of our political actions.

Together with the outgoing group leader we will prepare our first constitutive meeting in Strasbourg.”

Outgoing leader of Renew Europe Group, Guy Verhofstadt, congratulated Dacian Cioloș:

With Dacian Cioloș the Group has elected a strong pro-European leader who will make sure our voice will be heard. Without us it will be impossible to form a stable majority in the European Parliament. We will now fight for our political priorities and our pro-European agenda that will have to be the basis of the next Commission President’s programme in order to get our support.”

Image for post
Image for post

Today, the Renew Europe Group elected also their first and seven Vice-Presidents.

First Vice-President: Malik Azmani (VVD, Netherlands)

Vice-Presidents: Iskra MIHAYLOVA (MRF, Bulgaria), Katalin CSEH (Momentum, Hungary), Frédérique RIES (MR, Belgium), Morten LØKKEGAARD (Venstre, Denmark), Luis GARICANO (Ciudadanos, Spain), Dominique RIQUET (Renaissance, France) and Martin HORWOOD (LibDems, UK)

Follow us: https://twitter.com/RenewEurope

Written by

We are the pro-European political group in the EP fighting for your freedom, civil rights while securing economic growth and jobs. www.reneweuropegroup.eu

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store